Simple home remedy to stop the itch from mosquito bites

All you need for the Hot Spoon Method for instant relief from the itch of a mosquito bite is some hot water and a metal spoon.

All you need for the Hot Spoon Method for instant relief from the itch of a mosquito bite is some hot water and a metal spoon.

We had a very mild winter which means my area is teeming with mosquitoes. I am very light skinned and true to form mosquitoes are feasting on me at the usual high rate. As unpleasant as the bites are, it is the itching that drives me mad. The usual cortisone creams and calamine lotion were doing absolutely nothing to help.

I was losing my mind so searched the internet. In the comment section to yet another article recommending the same old useless (for me) solutions I hit paydirt. Hallelujah!

The Hot Spoon Method

You will need something to heat water in and a metal spoon plus a tissue for drying.

  1. Heat the water. You want it hot but not boiling hot. Be careful.
  2. Place the spoon in the hot water to heat the spoon up.
  3. Remove the spoon and quickly dry it with a tissue.
  4. Place the back of the spoon on the mosquito bite.
  5. Hold it until the itching disappears or about 5 seconds.

I used a mason jar filled with water and heated it in a microwave on high for 2 minutes and let it set a minute or two. Then I rested the spoon in the jar for a few seconds. I removed the spoon, wiped it dry and applied the hot spoon to the bite. In a second or two the itching stopped but I held the spoon in place while I counted to ten to make sure I fully “cooked” the mosquito bite.

I had more than 40 bites altogether (no exaggeration), some in clusters, on my arms, legs, toes, fingers, neck, chin line and at my hair line. So you can imagine my relief.

There’s a scientific explanation for why this works so quickly and beautifully. All I care and am so grateful for is that it works! It will work for you too. And you can do it right there at home and get relief as quickly as you can heat a bit of water and grab a metal spoon.